12 Strong Squad to Take on FINA World Swimming Championships in Doha

ByEmma Porter |

The 2024 iteration of the World Aquatics Championships in Doha, Qatar (2nd – 18th February 2024) will see Team Ireland swimmers and divers vie for Olympic berths in Paris, with this being the penultimate occasion for swimmers before a final Olympic Trials in Dublin in May. For divers, this is their final nail-biting attempt to achieve their place as part of Team Ireland.

Mona McSharry will feature for Ireland in this event as part of a 12-strong swimming team and a 3-person diving team. McSharry was a finalist on two occasions at the 2023 World Aquatics Championships and, alongside Wiffen, will form Ireland’s greatest hopes of final spots and podium challenges across the eight days of racing. Ellen Walshe will skip this event to focus on training through to May and both the Men’s 400m Medley relay and Women’s 400m Freestyle relay are set to compete on this occasion. Ireland currently sit with three relays in provisional Olympic relays berths, with an overall Top-16 position from Fukuoka and Doha required to secure Paris invitations.

National Performance Director Jon Rudd noted,  “It is an unusual time of the year to have such an event, and we may never see this again, particularly in an Olympic year, but it must be embraced, and we have to take the opportunities that come with it. Daniel Wiffen, Mona McSharry and Ellen Walshe have all booked their places in Paris, and this is a chance for our swimmers, divers and our relays to add themselves to Team Ireland and ensure their spots come July.”


2024 World Aquatics Championships (50m), Doha, Qatar – Swimming
Name Home Programme Home Coach
Victoria Catterson National Centre (Dublin) Steve Beckerleg
Grace Davison Ards SC Curtis Coulter
Tom Fannon National Centre (Dublin) Steve Beckerleg
Conor Ferguson Loughborough University Ian Hulme
Maria Godden National Centre (Limerick) John Szaranek
Darragh Greene National Centre (Dublin) Steve Beckerleg
Max McCusker Millfield School Ryan Livingstone
Mona McSharry University of Tennessee Matt Kredich
Erin Riordan National Centre (Dublin) Steve Beckerleg
Shane Ryan National Centre (Dublin) Steve Beckerleg
John Shortt National Centre (Limerick) John Szaranek
Daniel Wiffen Loughborough University Andi Manley
Share this post
Share this post