2023 European Indoor Athletic Championships Team Selection

ByEmma Porter |

Following the publication of the final ‘Road to Istanbul’ ranking list, Athletics Ireland has announced the following selections to the European Athletics Indoor Championships to be held in Istanbul from 2nd to 5th March 2023.

The team includes twice European Indoor 800m medallist Mark English, World Indoor 60m Hurdles finalist Sarah Lavin, Commonwealth Games Hepathlon medallist Kate O’Connor and recent national 60m record breaker Israel Olatunde. The Women’s 4x400m relay team is included as one of only six qualifying nations and will compete in a straight final.

Athletes may yet be added to this team should an eligible athlete move into a qualifying spot on the ‘Road to Istanbul’.

Name Event Club Coach
Joan Healy 60m Leevale AC Derval O’Rourke & Marian Heffernan
Sarah lavin 60mH Emerald AC Noelle Morrissey
Sharlene Mawdsley 400m & 4x400m Newport AC Gary Ryan
Sophie Becker 400m & 4x400m Raheny Shamrocks AC Jeremy Lyons & Gerard O’Donnell
Cliodhna Manning 400m & 4x400m Kilkenny City Harriers Peter Lyons
Kate O’Connor Pentathlon Dundalk St Gerards Michael O’Connor
Phil Healy 4x400m Bandon AC Shane McCormack
Miriam Daly 4x400m Carrick-on-Suir AC Hayley Harrison
Niamh Murray 4x400m Bray Runners Aine Murray
Israel Olatunde 60m UCD AC Daniel Kilgallon
Mark English 800m Finn Valley AC Feidhlim Kelly
John Fitzsimons 800m Kildare AC Joe Ryan
Andrew Coscoran 1500m Star of the Sea AC Feidhlim Kelly
Luke McCann 1500m UCD AC Thomas Dreißigacker & Clark McCann
Darragh McElhinney 3000m UCD AC Emmett Dunleavy
Share this post
Share this post