Cross-Country National Series Round Five Results

ByEmma Porter |

Robin Seymour and Joanna Bula were crowned overall winners of the senior categories after the final round of the 2023 Cross-country National Series on Sunday, July 2nd.

Hosted by Bree MTB in Co. Wexford, the club welcomed the series back to the southeast after hosting their first round in 2022, and the action didn’t disappoint as overall series winners were crowned following an action-packed final round.

With the best four out of five rounds counting towards overall grading, and riders having to compete in at least three rounds to qualify for the overall ranking, Seymour and Bula took the senior 1 overall prize.

In the senior 1 men’s race, Seymour and clubmate Daniel Brickenden finished triumphantly together with Seymour slowing down to allow Brickenden the win. In the senior 1 women’s race, Ciara MacManus was a dominant winner.

Eric Downey won the senior 2 men’s race as Dominik Drwal took overall victory while Tara Brennan’s overall victory was underlined by a strong performance to take the senior 2 women’s category.

Cameron McFarland took the final round in the senior 3 men’s category as Jean Sergio Cambruzzi took the win in a competitive senior 3 overall battle. In the junior men’s category, Jake White made it three wins in three rounds but misses out on overall victory as Darragh O’Connor’s consistency ensures he takes the win.

Karl White and Fiona Lally took the senior 4 men’s and senior 3 women’s beginners categories respectively. There are no overall prizes for these categories.

At U16 level, Curtis McKee is the overall men’s winner while Ryan Daly sealed the win in round five. Faith Robinson’s final round win also saw her take the overall victory in a tight U16 women’s standings.

Caleb McGreevy enjoyed a dominant victory to seal an overall win in the U14 men’s category while Lacey Aicken-Johnson took the round and overall victory in the U14 women.

James Cunningham and Ava Baker took the overall prize in the U12 categories, Cunningham making it five wins and a clean sweep of the series while Ciara O’Connor won in round five of the U12 women’s race.

In the U10 categories, Benjamin Cunningham and Aoife Campbell won both the fifth round as well as overall victory in impressive performances. Jaxon Jennings and Ciara McCool were first over the line in the U8 categories – the overall wins however went to Conor McGahan and Rionach Campbell.

Full results from round five are available here.

The final overall rankings can be viewed here.

Share this post
Share this post