Cryan, Keane and Walshe Named Athletes of the Year at Swim Ireland Awards

ByEmma Porter |

Swim Ireland athletes Ellen Walshe (swimming). Ellen Keane (para swimming) and Clare Cryan (diving) have been named Athletes of the Year at the 2022 Swim Ireland Awards which took place earlier today (Saturday) at the Crowne Plaza, Blanchardstown.

Ellen Walshe won the Swimmer of the Year Award, for her history-making silver medal at the 2021 World Short Course Championships, where she claimed silver in the 400m Individual Medley; the first-ever silver for Ireland and Ireland’s first female to win a world medal.

World Para Swimming Championship silver medallist Ellen Keane won the Para Swimmer of the Year Award. Keane’s coach Dave Malone collected the Performance Coach of the Year accolade, and world bronze medallist Nicole Turner and Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Barry McClements are also in his coaching group.

Cryan won the Diver of the Year Award for her performances at the European Championships in Rome in July, where she placed fifth in the 3M Springboard Final.

World Para Swimming Championships double bronze medallist Róisín NíRíain was honoured with the Performance Pathway Para Swimmer of the Year. European Juniors semi-finalist Grace Hodgins won Performance Pathway Swimmer of the Year, and after an incredible breakthrough year, where he won 1M Springboard Bronze at the European Junior Championships, Jake Passmore took home the Performance Pathway Diver of the Year Award. Hodgins’ Trojan SC Coach Jonathan Preston was named Performance Pathway Coach of the Year.

Share this post
Share this post