Eight Athletes Selected to Represent Ireland at World Cross Country Championships

ByEmma Porter |

Athletics Ireland has selected eight athletes to represent Ireland at the World Cross Country Championships that take place in Belgrade, Serbia on Saturday 30th March.

Fiona Everard (Bandon AC) and Danielle Donegan (Tullamore Harriers AC) will once again don the green singlet in the Senior Women’s 10,000m race.

Everard caused a major surprise when she became national senior cross country champion in November 2023 in Gowran and then went on to finish 34th at the European Cross Country Championships in Brussels. The Galway based athlete will be looking to produce a strong performance in the Serbian capital.

Donegan, who is the reigning U23 national cross country champion, finished 8th in her age category at those championships in Belgium and will be hoping for a positive start to her time in the senior athletics ranks.

Keelan Kilrehill (Moy Valley AC) and Hugh Armstrong (Ballina AC) came close to making the podium as part of the Senior Men’s team who finished fourth at the European Cross Country Championships last year. Both athletes placed inside the top twenty that day in gruelling conditions and they will once again be aiming for good results as they take to action in the Senior Men’s 10,000m.

Two of the gold medal winning Irish U20 Men’s team from those championships in Belgium will make the journey to Belgrade. Seamus Robinson (City of Derry Spartans AC) and Harry Colbert (Waterford AC) will be aiming to emulate their heroics from that memorable day in December as they race over 8,000m.

Anna Gardiner (East Down AC) and Kirsty Maher (Moy Valley AC) will return to international action in the U20 Women’s 6,000m race. Gardiner looked seriously impressive when claiming the Senior Girls title at the All-Ireland Schools Cross Country Championships last weekend and will look to build on that performance and her top ten finish at the European Cross Country Championships last year.

Maher last represented Ireland at the Celtic International Cross Country in Scotland in January where she won bronze and will no doubt be relishing the opportunity to be back in green again following her top fifteen finish in Brussels.



Event Athlete Club Coach
U20 Women Anna Gardiner East Down AC Peter Morgan
U20 Women Kirsty Maher Moy Valley Andy Bibby & Phillip Finnerty
U20 Men Harry Colbert Waterford AC Des Colbert
U20 Men Seamus Robinson City of Derry Spartans AC Martin Robinson
Senior Women Danielle Donegan Tullamore Harriers Emmett Dunleavy
Senior Women Fiona Everard Bandon AC Matt Lockett
Senior Men Hugh Armstrong Ballina AC Feidhlim Kelly
Senior Men Keelan Kilrehill Mov Valley AC Emmett Dunleavy


Share this post
Share this post