Feeley and O’Brien Win Mullingar GP

ByEmma Porter |

Lakeside Wheelers hosted the fifth round of the 2024 Road National Series, the Mullingar GP, which saw riders tackle a 34 km circuit around north Co. Westmeath.

The A1/A2/Junior riders faced a tough 136km. The A3/Junior riders had to complete 102km, while the Women and the A4 riders had 68km.

A busy schedule of racing, beginning with a new addition, an Under 16 race for boys and girls, provided plenty of action. Once again, the Mullingar GP attracted large entries, with over 200 riders entered across all races throughout the day.

In the A1/A2/Junior race Daire Feeley, riding for All Human Velo Revolution, and Odhran Doogan, riding for Giant Store Assen cycling team NWVG, made a break early on. Despite the changeable weather the pair extended their lead to well over one minute as they entered the fourth and final lap.

The pressure mounted as group of riders started to bridge the gap as the race made its away from Crookedwood to Castlepollard for the last time. Feeley and Doogan reacted well, despite the gap reducing down to less than 30 seconds at one point, they edged ahead once again.

The pair worked tirelessly throughout, an unfortunate puncture for Dooley meant the victory was Feeley’s for the taking. Team Skyline rider Cian Keogh finished in third place.

Feeley claimed valuable points in the series. He now sits four points ahead of George Pedan, Team PB Performance, and 19 point ahead Liam Crowley, UCD Cycling Club, in the overall standings. Feeley’s victory today, marks his third year in a row winning the Mullingar GP.

The main contenders in the Junior Men’s category were not in action today, leaving the top of the series leaderboard unchanged. Matthew Walls, riding for Lucan Cycling Club, gained his first points of the series today and is now in fifth place overall.

In the Women’s race victory went to Aoife O’Brien for Belco Van Eyck. Longcourt Hotel – Newcastle West Wheelers rider Annalise Murphy. Abi Conway completed the podium for Westport Covey.

Murphy has extended her lead at the top of the series leaderboard, she is 44 ahead of Mary Corless, Challenge Cycling Club, in second place. Abi Conway, Westport Covey Cycling Club, is in third.

Picking up fourth place today and also extending her lead in the Junior Women category was Kate Murphy for Sliabh Luachra Cycling Club. Murphy is well clear of her nearest rivals in the series. She is on 87 points, Rhiannon Dolan is on 30 points for TC racing, and Aliyah Rafferty is on 19 for Tofauti Everyone Active.

Rory Condon won the A3 / Junior for O’Leary Stone Kanturk. Greg Swinand was second for Team Dan Morrissey – Primor by Pissei and Upperchurch Drombane Cycling’s David Russel completed the podium.

In the A4 race, victory went to Ross Byrne for Laois Cycling Club, in second place was Cian O’Connor for Blarney Cycling Club and Terence McCarten for St. Tierans Cycling Club was third.

The series will conclude with Round 6 on Sunday 28th of July with the Alan Towell Memorial, hosted by Banbridge Cycling Club.

Share this post
Share this post