Irish Team Named for 2024 Para-cycling Track World Championships

ByEmma Porter |

Cycling Ireland has announced the Irish team to compete in the 2024 Para-cycling Track World Championships in Rio De Janeiro from March 20th-24th.

A strong team of 11 riders will represent Ireland on the world stage following a successful 2023 World Championships, which saw Ireland bring home five bronze medals from Glasgow last August.

All five medals are set to be defended in Brazil as Ireland look to hit the ground running in an important championship for qualification as well as fine-tuning for the 2024 Paris Paralympic Games, which will get underway in 6 months.

Ireland will be well represented with two tandem pairings in both the men and women’s categories. Ronan Grimes, Richael Timothy and Chris Burns will compete in the individual events.

Multiple world and Paralympic medalists Katie-George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal combine following their individual pursuit bronze in Glasgow. Linda Kelly pilots Josephine Healion as the duo continue to develop as a track tandem pairing.

In the men’s tandem, Eoin Mullen pilots Martin Gordon, while Mitchell McLaughlin and Damien Vereker begin their second season as a tandem pairing.

National Para-cycling Coach, Jamie Blanchfield, said, “We are excited to name such a strong and experienced team for the upcoming World Track World Championships in Rio. This will be the last major Championships in advance of the Paris Paralympics later this year. This event represents a key point in our qualification campaign and also affords us a crucial benchmarking opportunity in our final preparations for the Paralympic Games.”

Ireland Team – 2024 Para-cycling Track World Championships

  • Ronan Grimes – MC4
  • Richael Timothy – WC3
  • Chris Burns – MC2
  • Katie George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal – WB
  • Josephine Healion and Linda Kelly – WB
  • Martin Gordon and Eoin Mullen – MB
  • Damien Vereker and Mitchell McLaughlin – MB
Share this post
Share this post