John Travers and Meghan Ryan National 10 Mile Champions 2023

ByEmma Porter |

John Travers (Donore Harriers) and Meghan Ryan (Dundrum South Dublin AC) secured the 2023 National 10 Mile titles at the sold-out Irish Runner 10 Mile in Phoenix Park this morning (July 23rd).

Travers was very much in control of the men’s race from the gun, settling in with a leading pack of six runners before an injection of pace approaching the halfway mark saw the Donore athlete stretch clear of the field on his run for home to cross in 49:57.

Speaking after claiming his first national road title (individual), Travers said, “I needed something before nationals to get last week’s run at the Morton Games out of my system. I hadn’t really the work done for this, but I dipped under the 50-minute mark so I’m happy with that. There was a big group of us heading through 5 mile and I put the foot down just after the 5-mile marker and that opened it up a bit and thankfully I was able to hold on until the end.”

Travers was followed home by David Mansfield (Clonmel AC) 50:33 and last month’s national 5-mile champion Emmet Jennings (Dundrum South Dublin AC) 50:40 who enjoyed a ding-dong battle right into the home straight.

The performance of Travers would lead Donore to the senior team title in dominant fashion. Liffey claimed the silver team medal, with Leevale hot on their heels for bronze.

Meghan Ryan (Dundrum South Dublin) picked up her second national road title of the summer following last month’s gold medal in the 5 mile. The DSD athlete had amassed an almost 40 second lead at the half way mark and never looked back on her way to the title in a time of 58:03.

Speaking after the race Ryan said, “I felt really good. I was happy to get out over 10 miles as I’ve been in a half marathon / marathon block so the 10 mile suited me and I felt strong. At the start of the season my coach said to go out and make a name for yourself on the roads so that’s what I’ve been trying to do this year so I’m glad I’ve achieved that.”

Ryan was followed home by teammate Fiona Clinton (Dundrum South Dublin AC) 59:15 who claimed the silver medal, with Kealey Tideswell (Clonmel AC) 59:25 adding another medal to Clonmel’s haul.

DSD’s impressive road season continued with them securing the senior women’s team title with seventeen minutes to spare, while Dunboyne and Sli Cualann put in superb performances to finish second and third place respectively.

Senior Men:

  1. John TRAVERS Donore Harriers A.C. 49:57
  2. David MANSFIELD Clonmel A.C. 50:33
  3. Emmet JENNINGS Dundrum South Dublin A.C. 50:40

Senior Men Teams:

  1. Donore Harriers A.C.  02:42:23
  2. Liffey Valley A.C. 02:47:59
  3. Leevale A.C.  02:48:45

Senior Women:

  1. Meghan RYAN Dundrum South Dublin A.C. 58:03
  2. Fiona CLINTON Dundrum South Dublin A.C 59:15
  3. Kealey TIDESWELL Clonmel A.C. 59:25

Senior Women Teams:

  1. Dundrum South Dublin A.C.         03:01:21
  2. Dunboyne A.C. 03:18:42
  3. Sli Cualann A.C. 03:26:18

The full list of results can be found HERE

Share this post
Share this post