McDunphy and Speers National Road Series Winners

ByEmma Porter |

Round Seven of the 2023 Road National Series was unfortunately cancelled on Saturday, August 19th, due to the effects Storm Betty. Event officials made the difficult decision to cancel the round in the interest of both rider and spectator safety, with debris and localised flooding on the course meaning the race could not go ahead safely.

As a result, Cycling Ireland confirmed that Round Seven of the Road National Series will not be rescheduled and the series will now conclude after six rounds. This unfortunate decision had to be taken, due to the current late stage of the 2023 Road Season and the congested weekend calendar in the coming weeks.

Following Round Six of the National Road Series, Con McDunphy and Jemma Speers have taken the top spot in the National Road Series Rankings.

McDunphy dominated the Men’s series with 140 points, closely followed by Daire Feeley with 120 points, and Jason Kenny rounding out the podium with 79 points.

In the Women’s series Speers claimed the top spot with 136 points, followed by Caoimhe O’Brien with 120 points, and Jenny Neenan with 118 points.

Overall Standings


  1. Conn McDunphy (Lucan CRC)
  2. Daire Feeley (All Human/VeloRevolution)
  3. Jason Kenny (UCD Cycling Club)


  1. Jemma Speers (North Down CC)
  2. Caoimhe O’Brien (Belco Van Eyck)
  3. Jennifer Neenan (UCD Cycling Club)

Junior men’s ranking    

  1. Killian O’Brien (Orwell Wheelers)
  2. Willem O’Connor (JEGG-DJR Academy)
  3. Liam O’Brien (Fermoy CC)

Junior women’s ranking    

  1. Hannah Hayes (TC Racing)
  2. Shauna Finn (Arcane CT)
  3. Aine Doherty (VC Glendale)


Share this post
Share this post