Moore and Lenehan Win Criterium National Championships 

ByEmma Porter |

Darnell Moore and Marine Lenehan were crowned National Champions at the 2024 Criterium National Championships.

It was a perfect evening for racing as the sun shone down on Banbridge. The high-speed discipline took place around a testing and technical 1km circuit.

The evening got underway with the Women’s Race. Longcourt Hotel – NCW Wheelers rider Annalise Murphy set the pace from early on, winning both of the prime sprints. Team Dan Morrissey rider Marine Lenehan was never far from Murphy’s wheel.

Also in contention coming into the final laps were up and coming riders Aine Doherty of VC Glendale and Aliyah Raffety for Tofauti Everyone Active.

In a sprint for the line it was Lenehan who came out on top, with Murphy in second and Doherty completing the podium.

The pace was furious from the start in the Open Race. Despite attacks being made throughout the race, the top riders all remained in contention coming into the final stages.

An opening at the perfect moment, with two laps to go, gave Darnell Moore a chance to breakaway. The Team Caldwell Cycles rider maintained his lead into the final lap and as he rounded the final corner and approached the finish line it was clear victory was his.

John Buller, riding for the host club Banbridge Cycling Club, received a large cheer coming home in second place. Moynalty Cycling Club rider Luke Smith was third.

Delighted to return to the top of the podium, Moore said, “The race started out fairly fast from the beginning, nothing really stuck early on. I got away in a small group, but nothing was sticking so decided just to sit for a while.

“It just worked out that two laps to go it just opened up for me. I won here before with a lap to go so I thought I might as well go for the two with two laps to go. Happy to win, it’s been a long time coming, I’ve had two third in the last few years so happy to take the win tonight.”

Share this post
Share this post