O’Brien and Wade Crowned Omnium National Champions

ByEmma Porter |

Caoimhe O’Brien and Aaron Wade were crowned Omnium National Champions on Saturday, July 1st, at Sundrive Velodrome.

The four event Omnium consisted of a scratch race, elimination race, tempo race and points race.

It was a one-two finish for the O’Brien sisters as they battled throughout the day in a bid for the National title. In the opening scratch race, it was Aoife who took the win ahead of Autumn Collins and Caoimhe O’Brien.

Caoimhe then went on to win the tempo and elimination races giving her a narrow advantage over Collins and Aoife O’Brien before extending her lead in the final points race to secure the win with 163 points.

A strong showing by Aoife O’Brien in the final points race put her in second place on 149 points with Collins rounding off the podium with 102 points.

In the men’s category, it was Aaron Wade who dominated the racing, winning the opening two races and taking a convincing win in the points race to seal the overall win with 173 points.

Cian Keogh performed consistently across the four events to finish on 123 points, taking a well deserved silver medal.

It was a much closer battle for the bronze medal as just four points separated Harvey Barnes and JB Murphy going into the points race. Murphy used all of his experience in the final race to get ahead of Barnes to secure the bronze medal by just two points in the end.

Full results

Women’s Results:

Men’s Results:

Share this post
Share this post