Para-cycling National Series Round 2 Results

ByEmma Porter |

Round 2 of the Para-cycling National Series which was rescheduled from its original date due to storm Kathleen, was hosted by Shannonside Wheelers on Saturday, April 20th.

Racing took place just outside of Athlone with the prizegiving and hospitality in the Technological University of the Shannon, Athlone campus, afterwards.

The event attracted riders from across Ireland, including several Para-cycling high performance athletes, however, it was a new face on the circuit that put in the performance of the day.

The standout moment came in the Junior Solo Bike category when Ciaran Kelly, competing in his first ever race, came home with a gold medal. At just 13-years-old, Saturday marked the start of what is likely to be an amazing journey for Ciaran. His victory and reaction reminded everyone present just how powerful sport can be.

Ronan Grimes claimed victory in the Solo Bike category, with William Clifford finishing in second and Richael Timothy in third.

Declan Slevin proved unbeatable in the Handcycle category, coming home in an impressive time of 26:50. Ray Murnane and Seamus Wall completed the podium.

In the Tandem category victory went to Ciarán O’Toole. Ciaran Butler took the runner up spot.

In the Para-cycling National Series league table Cormac O’Callaghan leads in the Solo Bike with 48 points. Tom Murphy and Ronan Grimes currently sit in second and third, on 36 and 30 points respectively.

Declan Slevin has extended his lead in the Handcycle category on 60 points, having won the opening two legs of the series. Seamus Wall and Ray Murnane are tied for second place, both on 48 points.

Ciarán O’Toole and Billy Shanahan are both on 30 points in the Tandem category, with Ciaran Butler in second on 26 points.

The series will return to the midlands for the third leg in Moate on May 25th, hosted by Lakeside Wheelers.

Full results from Round 2 can be found HERE.

Share this post
Share this post