Para Cycling Road Team Selected for UCI Para Cycling World Championships

ByEmma Porter |

The Irish Para-cycling Road Team has been announced for the UCI Cycling World Championships.

After several members of the team compete in the Para-cycling Track World Championships in Glasgow, they’ll head south to Dumfries where all Para-cycling Road World Championships events will be held from August 9th to 13th.

Ireland are defending champions in both the women’s tandem (WB) and Men’s C4 road races after Katie George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal, as well as Ronan Grimes, secured gold medals at the 2022 Para-cycling Road World Championships.

13 athletes will represent Ireland in the road race and time trial events across several categories, including three tandems and seven individual riders.

Women’s Tandem

Ireland will be represented by two exciting women’s tandem pairings in the road race and time trial events. World champion Katie George Dunlevy is piloted by Linda Kelly as the pair target a strong performance following three straight gold medals in the time trial at World Cup events this season. The duo have also impressed in the road race as they picked up gold and bronze medals.

Josephine Healion will combine with Eve McCrystal in the second women’s tandem pairing. The new partnership this season has brought some encouraging results in the road race and time trial, including a silver medal in the road race at the Ostend World Cup. Healion is also targeting a second medal at the Para-cycling Road World Championships following a bronze last year in the road race, and she has multiple Paralympic and world champion Eve McCrystal as her pilot in Dumfries.

Men’s Tandem

Damien Vereker and Mitchell McLaughlin will race their first Para-cycling Road World Championships together. The newly paired men’s tandem duo picked up some vital racing time in spring as they competed in Para-cycling World Cup events. In the final World Cup event of the season, the pair finished 5th in the time trial and 4th in the road race in their most impressive results together.


Ronan Grimes will compete in the men’s C4 category as he aims to defend his world title in the road race after picking up some solid results this season. Chris Burns will represent Ireland in the men’s C2 category while Richael Timothy will compete in the women’s C3 category.

William Clifford (MC4) and Cormac O’Callaghan (MC1) have been selected for the championships after impressing this season, particularly as part of the Cycling Ireland Para-cycling Commission Development Squad at the Ostend World Cup in May.

In Handcycling, Declan Slevin will compete in the men’s H3 category while Allister MacSorley competes in the men’s H4 category in Dumfries.

2023 UCI Cycling World Championships Para-cycling Team

Women’s Tandem 

  • Katie George Dunlevy & Linda Kelly (Pilot)
  • Josephine Healion & Eve McCrystal (Pilot)

Men’s Tandem 

  • Damien Vereker & Mitchell McLaughlin (Pilot)


  • Ronan Grimes – Men’s C4
  • Chris Burns – Men’s C2
  • Richael Timothy – Women’s C3
  • William Clifford – Men’s C3
  • Cormac O’Callaghan – Men’s C1
  • Declan Slevin – Men’s H3
  • Allister MacSorley – Men’s H4
Share this post
Share this post