Squad of 32 to Travel to European U20 Athletics Championships

ByEmma Porter |

A team of 32 athletes is set to compete at the 2023 European U20 Championships to be held in Jerusalem, Israel, from the 7th to the 10th of August 2023.  The selections include 18 individual competitors along with men’s 4x100m and men’s and women’s 4x400m squads.

The squad includes Nick Griggs, reigning European U20 Champion over 3000m, who is selected in both 1500m and 3000m and who has been having a stellar season in 2023 to date,  Elizabeth Ndudi goes into the championships as Ireland’s top-ranked female athlete having recently bettered her own U20 Long Jump record with a 6.44 leap in Mannheim.


Name Club Coach Event(s)
Anna Gavigan Lambay Sports & Athletics Enda Gavigan Discus
Ava Rochford Nenagh Olympic AC Martin O’Grady High Jump
Avril Millerick Youghal AC Noel Curtin 5000m
Elizabeth Ndudi DSD AC Julien Guilard Long Jump
Louise O’Mahony BMOH AC Donnacha O’Mahony 5000m
Lucy-May Sleeman Leevale AC John Corr 100m, 200m
Maeve O’Neill Doheny AC Tony O’Neill 800m
Niamh Murray Bray Runners Aine Murray & Joe Ryan 400m, 4x400m
Victoria Amiadamen Dooneen AC PJ O’Rourke 400mh, 4x400m
Kate O’Connell Lucan Harriers Jeremy Lyons 4x400m
Hannah Murray Finn Valley Rosemary Finn 4x400m
Renee Crotty Annalee AC Damian Lalor & James Nolan 4x400m
Eve Noctor Lucan Harriers Niamh Fitzgerald 4x400m
Daisy Walker Monaghan Phoenix Brian Peppard & Damien Barry 4x400m Non-travelling Reserve
Adam Nolan SLOT AC Billy Delaney 110mh
Fintan Dewhirst Tir Chonaill AC Brian McGonagle 400mh
Jack Fenlon St. Abban’s AC Eamonn Kelly 3000m
Jonas Stafford Ashford AC Feidhlim Kelly 5000m
Lughaidh Mallon Lagan Valley Jim McKeown 1500m
Neil Culhane Ace AC Liam Cooney 800m
Niall Murphy Ennis Track Club Pat Hogan 3000m
Nick Griggs Candour Track Club Mark Kirk 1500m, 3000m
Oisin Joyce Lake District AC Padraic Joyce, David Fitzpatrick, Aisling Joyce Javelin
Sean Aigboboh Tallaght AC Daniel Kilgallon 4x100m
Nkemjika Onwumereh Metro St. Brigid’s AC Daniel Kilgallon 4x100m
Dannan Long Enniscorthy AC Chris St.-Claire Johnson 4x100m
Darragh Murphy Limerick AC Gwynne Ryan 4x100m
Max O’Reilly Riverstick Kinsale AC Dave Keating 4x100m
Killian Curran Blackrock AC Paul Conroy 4x100m Non-travelling Reserve
David Bosch DSD AC Ruaidhri Kedney 4x400m
Joe Doody Cabinteely AC Brian Doody 4x400m
David Mannion South Galway AC Jim Phelan 4x400m
Stephen Mannion South Galway AC Jim Phelan 4x400m
Daragh Masterson Ratoath AC Peter Doherty 4x400m
Sean Doggett Athenry AC Stephen Doggett & Iain Shaw 4x400m Non-travelling Reserve
Share this post
Share this post