Strong Irish Junior Team Ready to Take on Europe

ByEmma Porter |

A team of twelve Irish swimmers are in Belgrade, Serbia to compete against Europe’s stars of tomorrow at the LEN European Junior Swimming Championships. The Irish team will feature across the six days of competition from Tuesday, 4th – 9th July at the Milan Gale Muskatirovic Swimming Centre.

Led by Andy Reid and supported by coaches Fran Ronan and Andrew Addison, the Irish contingent includes four swimmers returning for their second consecutive LEN European Junior Championships; Evan Bailey (New Ross), Ellie McCartney (National Centre Ulster), Grace Davison (Ards), and Molly Mayne (Hamilton Aquatics) were all part of the team at last year’s European Juniors in Bucharest, Romania.

It is an action-packed opening day of competition for Ireland with eleven of the twelve team members getting the competition underway. Ards swimmer Grace Davison, Evan Bailey of New Ross, and recent National Centre (Ulster) scholarship recipient, Adam Colgan (Lisburn City) will all compete in the 200m Freestyle.

Colgan, along with six of his teammates will be making their international debuts for Ireland this week. Liam O’Connor (Terenure & Project 28) Cora Rooney (Enniskillen), Alana Burns-Atkin (Banbridge), Oisin Tebite (NAC & Project 28), Dylan Registe (Lisburn City), and John Shortt (National Centre Limerick & Bluefin) will all debut across different events.

Completing the action on Tuesday is 2019 European Youth Olympic Games silver medallist Molly Mayne (Hamilton Aquatics) and Ellie McCartney of National Centre (Ulster) who get their second European Juniors underway in the 50 Breaststroke, while Conor Fitzgerald (National Centre Limerick), who competed at the 2022 European Youth Olympic Festival, will compete in the Men’s 4x100m Freestyle Relay.

Speaking before the event, National Performance Pathway Manager Andy Reid said: “I am excited to lead our largest and most competitive team since 2019, a team with potential for current and future success.  The athletes have prepared well and are looking forward to delivering their best performances each day.”


  • Evan Bailey                  New Ross SC
  • Alana Burns-Atkin       Banbridge SC
  • Adam Colgan              Lisburn City SC
  • Grace Davison             Ards SC & National Centre (Ulster)
  • Conor Fitzgerald         National Centre (Limerick) & Limerick SC
  • Molly Mayne               Hamilton Aquatics SC (Dubai)
    Ellie McCartney           National Centre (Ulster) & Ards SC
  • Liam O’Connor            Terenure SC & Project 28
  • Dylan Registe              Lisburn City SC
  • Cora Rooney                Enniskillen Lakelanders
  • John Shortt                 National Centre (Limerick) & Bluefin SC
  • Oisin Tebite                 NAC SC & Project 28


Share this post
Share this post