Team Announced For Tour De L’Avenir 2023

ByEmma Porter |

Cycling Ireland have confirmed a team that will represent Ireland at the 2023 edition of Tour de l’Avenir from  20th – 27th August.

Ireland will be represented by six riders in the prestigious U23 stage race, regarded as the U23 equivalent of the Tour de France.

Among the six riders named, four of those are scheduled to also represent Ireland at the 2023 UCI Cycling World Championships in Glasgow and Scotland. Jamie Meehan, Dean Harvey, Odhran Doogan, and Aaron Wade will race in the U23 men’s road race on August 12th. Kevin McCambridge is also selected and has previously represented Ireland at the race in 2021 and 2022.

Archie Ryan returns from a long-term injury and is selected as he looks to build on his impressive performances at the 2022 edition of the race. Ryan, who recently signed with UCI World Tour team EF Education Easypost for the 2024 season, finished in 4th overall on the general classification last summer.

Team DS, Martyn Irvine, said, “It’s a shame Darren Rafferty wasn’t available for selection but we look forward to welcoming Archie Ryan back from a long term injury. Last year Archie had a hugely successful race finishing 4th overall and we’re looking forward to having him on the team once again. We have a strong team in France with four of those representing Ireland also competing at the upcoming U23 men’s road race at the UCI Cycling World Championships.”

Ireland Team

  • Dean Harvey
  • Kevin McCambridge
  • Archie Ryan
  • Odhran Doogan
  • Aaron Wade
  • Jamie Meehan
Share this post
Share this post