Team Announced for UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships

ByEmma Porter |

Cycling Ireland has confirmed a team of three riders will represent Ireland in the UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships in Hoogerheide, Netherlands, from February 3rd to 5th.

Aine Doherty will race in the women’s junior race while Liam O’Brien and Joseph Mullen will race in the junior men’s race over the weekend.

All three Riders are part of the Cycling Ireland ORC (Off-Road Commission) National Cyclo-Cross Development Squad which is continuing to make positive strides forward in the progression of the discipline by providing development opportunities for young riders through training and exposure to International racing in a supported team environment.

1st Year Juniors, Doherty and Mullen, performed strongly at last week’s UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup in Benidorm and have been consistent podium finishers all season domestically while the more experienced 2nd Year O’Brien has shown his strength in UCI level racing this Season and has delivered a consistent string of wins at home all season long.

The trio will measure themselves against the best young riders in the world at the championships and the opportunity will aid their continued development in the sport.

National Champion Dean Harvey was considered to race as part of the Team but is unable to compete due to contractual obligations with his Trade Team.

Cycling Ireland Head Coach Neill Delahaye said, “We believe these Riders stand to gain a positive learning experience from competing at this year’s Worlds in Hoogerheide. Each has acquitted themselves very well this season and has demonstrated their ability to perform in an international field. Their selection is a reflection of their ability and potential as athletes and also a testament to the hard work of Paul and his support team in the National Cyclo-cross Development Squad which is providing a positive environment for these young athletes to thrive and develop.”

Ireland Team At Cyclo-cross World Championships


Joseph Mullen – Junior

Liam O’Brien – Junior


Aine Doherty – Junior

Share this post
Share this post