Team Announced for World Race Walking Team Championships

ByEmma Porter |

Five athletes are set to compete at the World Race Walking Team Championships in Turkey this coming Sunday, April 21st.

Joining the 400 athletes taking to the start line in Antalya will be Ireland’s Brendan Boyce, Kate Veale, Oisin Lane, Joe Mooney, and Seamus Clarke.

All races will take place on a 2km loop course located close to the Antalya Expo Centre, with the start and finish area in front of the Expo 2016 Botanical Park.

This competition is given added significance in 2024 as it will be the first championships to stage the Marathon Race Walk Mixed Relay, and will serve as the primary qualification opportunity in that event ahead of this summer’s Paris Olympics.

The first 22 teams at the World Race Walk Team Championships Antalya 2024 shall automatically qualify for the Marathon Race Walk Mixed Relay event at the Olympic Games Paris 2024. Up to five of the first 22 teams can be a second team of the same country.

Finn Valley’s Brendan Boyce and West Waterford’s Kate Veale will spear-head Ireland’s challenge for qualification in this event, having partnered to achieve a 3:11:48 performance in Raheny on December 17th last.

Oisin Lane will take to the Men’s 20km and will be looking to further his reputation at senior international level as he bids to improve upon his recent 1:24:13 personal best set late last year. Joe Mooney will also compete in Men’s 20km on the back of his impressive PB of 1:24:38 in Podebrady earlier this month.

Seamus Clarke competes in the U20 10km having recently set a personal best of 45:03 in Dudince on March 16th, and will have one eye on qualification for this summer’s World U20 Championships which take place in Lima, Peru in August.

  • Follow the action HERE
  • Entry Lists can be found HERE
  • World Race Walking Team Championships Official Website & Timetable is available HERE

Irish Team:

Athlete Event Club Coach
Oisin Lane Men’s Senior 20km Mullingar Harriers AC Michael Lane
Joe Mooney Men’s Senior 20km Adamstown AC Marie Mooney
Brendan Boyce Marathon Race Walk Mixed Relay Finn Valley AC Rob Heffernan
Kate Veale Marathon Race Walk Mixed Relay West Waterford AC Perseus Karlstrom
Seamus Clarke Men’s U20 10km Moy Valley AC Deirdre Clarke


Share this post
Share this post