Track Team Announced for Adelaide Nations Cup

ByEmma Porter |

Following a successful start to the 2024, the Irish Track Team compete in Adelaide, Australia for the opening round of the Tissot UCI Track Nations Cup, taking place from Friday 2nd to Sunday 4th of February.

Five athletes will compete across four events over the weekend. Mia Griffin, Lara Gillespie, Alice Sharpe and Kelly Murphy will ride in the Team Pursuit, with Erin Creighton as reserve. This is a key event for Ireland, as Olympic qualification in the Team Pursuit provides automatic qualification for the Madison event at the Games.

Creighton will also be in Elimination Race action on the opening day as she continues to gain experience among the world’s best.

Sharpe and Griffin combine for the Women’s Madison on the second day. The pair are back together in the fast and furious event after Sharpe teamed up with Gillespie in the same event at the European Championships.

Gillespie once again takes on the Women’s Omnium on the final day of the weekend, following on from her exceptional fourth place finish at the 2024 UEC Track European Championships, narrowly missing out on a medal by one point.

This is the first of two key events in Ireland’s bid for Olympics Qualification. Ireland currently sit in ninth place for Olympic qualification with the top ten nations qualifying.

Ireland Schedule (Irish Time)

Friday, February 2nd

  • Women’s Team Pursuit Qualifying – 11:30pm (-1 Day)
  • Erin Creighton – Women’s Elimination Race Qualifying – 4:01am
  • Women’s Team Pursuit First Round* – 4:45am
  • Women’s Team Pursuit Finals* – 8:46am
  • Women’s Elimination Race Final* – 9:53am

Saturday, February 3rd

  • Alice Sharpe, Mia Griffin – Women’s Madison Qualifying – 4:25am
  • Women’s Madison Final* – 8:30am

Sunday, February 4th

  • Lara Gillespie – Women’s Omnium
  • Qualifying – 12:17am
  • Scratch Race – 5:30am
  • Tempo Race – 6:10am
  • Elimination Race – 7:36am
  • Points Race – 8:23am

* Subject to Qualification

Live Timing and Results

Full start lists, live timing and results can be found HERE.

Share this post
Share this post