Turner and O’Brien Top Ranking for National Triathlon Series

ByEmma Porter |

After a long season of racing, with 19 races of various distance and terrains around the country, the Triathlon Ireland National Series has come to a close.

To complete the series, an athlete needs to race a minimum of four events – one sprint, one standard and two others of any distance.

Men’s National Series

Colm Turner emerged victorious in the Men’s Rankings, with wins at Base2Race Harbourman and the Lost Sheep Middle Distance National Championships, and two close 2nd places at Ballyhass Sprint Triathlon and Pulse Port Beach Triathlon.

Duathlon National Series Winner Anthony O’Brien was 2nd in the National Series rankings with wins at Tri Athy National Sprint Championships and Pulse Port Beach Triathlon, and two 3rd places at Hell of the West and Base2Race Harbourman.

Lochlainn Connolly, of Invictus Belfast, rounded out the National Series podium, with wins at Crooked Lake Triathlon, Pikeman Triathlon, and Dublin City Sprint Triathlon, as well as a 2nd at TRI795.

Women’s National Series

In the Women’s Ranking, Emma O’Brien, Wicklow Tri Club, dominated the rankings with four wins from four at Dublin City Sprint Triathlon, Base2Race Harbourman Triathlon, TRI795, and Loughrea Sprint Triathlon.

Aisling O’Connell of Naas Tri Club took 2nd in the rankings with a 3rd place at Dublin City Sprint Triathlon, a 2nd at Hook or by Crook, and 4th at Pikeman Triathlon.

Rounding out the rankings is Katherine Fahy of Limerick Triathlon Club, with 2nd at Dublin City Sprint and TriAthy National Championships, 5th at Hell of West, and 3rd at Pulse Port Beach Triathlon.


They join previous winners:

Year Male Female
2022 Donnacha Kiely Ciara Wilson
2021 Aichlinn O’Reilly Maeve Gallagher
2019 Aaron Doherty Hilary Hughes
2018 Donnacha Kiely Becky Woods
2017 James Hoare Maeve Maher McWilliams
2016 Tom McEnery Lizanne Barnwall
2015 Aaron O’Brien Joanne Flanagan
2014 Tomasz Gagola Carolyn Hayes
2013 Kevin Thornton Anna Grealish
2012 Trevor Woods Marie Boland
2011 Bjorn Luddick Jennifer Duffy
2010 Conor Murphy Elena Maslova
2009 Bryan McCrystal Elena Maslova
2008 Art MacManus Elena Maslova
2007 Brian Campbell Elena Maslova
2006 Brian Campbell Trudy Brown
2005 Brian Crinion Tara Nolan
2004 Trevor Woods Anna Frankland
2003 Trevor Woods Trudy Brown
2002 Brian Campbell Trudy Brown
Share this post
Share this post